The Sacred Feminine Store View Cart
Sign Up for Email Updates
Search this site
Art Candles







The Meaning of colors and the Chakras

Purple is the color of the crown chakra and it connects us with the Divine and our spiritual life. . The magenta energy connects us to our unconscious self, and gives us the experience of being part of the whole universe. Strengthens intuition, imagination, psychic powers, and increases dream activity.


7th chakra is the Crown Chakra situated at the top of your head. This is the chakra that opens you to Higher Energies, your connection with Divinity. This is the chakra through which you begin to perceive that you are more than a human being in this physical form.

Indigo is the color of the third eye chakra and it is associated with intuition and vision. Many people also use color purple to clean and purify either a room or themselves. The purple energy connects us to our spiritual self bringing guidance, wisdom and inner strength. Enhances artistic talent and creativity. Purifies our thoughts and feelings giving us inspiration in all undertakings.


6th Chakra is also called the Third Eye, and it is in the middle of your forehead, a bit over your eyebrows. This is a very spiritual chakra that gives you that "sixth sense", intuition, syncronicities, knowing something ahead of time. When this chakra is fully activated, you can see auras and receive all kinds of information from the Higher Planes.

Blue corresponds to the throat chakra It is the color of self expression and being ourselves. This is a mentally-relaxing color. Blue has a pacifying effect on the nervous system and brings great relaxation. Ideal for sleep problems, and hyperactive children. Connects us to holistic thought, and gives us wisdom and clarity enhancing communication and speech.


5th Chakra is in the center of your neck/throat, where the 'adams apple is". Of course, this is the chakra of communication. When this chakra is open and balanced, you will be able to express yourself with confidence. On the other hand, if there are any issues with this chakra, you will find yourself not speaking your truth as much as you would like. Just notice how sometimes people keep clearing their throats as they speak, or have a light persistent cough although they are not sick.

Green is healing and it is the color of the heart chakra. People also associate pink with this chakra, and thus, love . Helps relax muscles, nerves, and thoughts. Cleanses and balances our energy, to give a feeling of renewal, peace and harmony. Green connects us to unconditional love and is used for balancing our whole being.


4th Chakra is in the center of our chest, over our heart, and it is very connected to the 3rd/Solar Plexus chakra. This chakra helps us experience love and connection with all living things, and it receives lots of feedback from the Solar Plexus, because loving and unconditional loving, is always a dance between ourselves, others and what we give and take in a relationship. Always pay attention to how your 3rd chakra feels, in addition to your heart.

Yellow is the color of the solar plexus chakra. It is our source of personal power. Yellow/golden is the color of the Christ consciousness. Gives us clarity of thought, increases awareness, and stimulates interest and curiosity. Yellow energy is related to the ability to perceive and understand. The yellow energy connects us to our mental self.


3rd Chakra is also called Solar Plexus. It tends to be a bit to the left, over the stomach area. This chakra processes energy/information coming to us and warns us if it is not for our highest good. It is our "seat of power. We all experience "gut feelings", and an upset stomach when "something is not right".

Orange is associated with creativity and radiance. It is the color of the reproductive chakra. Brings joy to our workday and strengthens our appetite for life! Orange is the best emotional stimulant. It connects us to our senses and helps to remove inhibitions and makes us independent and social.


2nd Chakra is right beneath our belly button. It vibrates with the light frequency of orange. This is a chakra that we use when we want to create, either literally, as having children, or when we want to come up with a piece of art, project or new endeavor.

Red is said to stimulate and energize. It is the color of the base chakra. This color is used to attract wealth and prosperity. Use when you need to meet a demanding day, or when you feel drained of energy. The color red provides the power from the earth and gives energy on all levels. It connects us to our physical body. Everything that is to be commenced needs the life vitality of red.


1st Chakra is the base, or root chakra. It vibrates with red light frequency. This chakra connects us to the physical world and life on earth. If this chakra is blocked, we experience feelings of isolation, lack of zest for life, money issues. Many spiritual people pay very little attention to this chakra. All of us have felt ungrounded at times. This is because this chakra was not working properly.